Events, People

SOM Foundation and IIT College of Architecture to Host International Research and Design Forum in Chicago

On September 6th, the SOM Foundation is hosting the inaugural International Research and Design Forum in partnership with the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) in Chicago. At the full-day event taking place at the IIT campus, industry leaders will deliver presentations and panel discussions on the groundbreaking ideas and research that continue to elevate design thinking and capabilities. The Forum will recognize leaders whose body of work, creativity, and expertise inspire the future of design of the built world. William F. Baker, SOM Structural Engineering Partner, will be recognized as an introductory honoree.

Speakers include Scott Duncan and William Baker of SOM, along with leading practitioners and researchers including Francis Aish, Foster + Partners; Philippe Block, ETH Zurich; James Carpenter, James Carpenter Design Associates; Janet Echelman and David Feldman, Studio Echelman; Jan Knippers, TU Stuttgart & Jan Knippers Ingenieure; Caitlin Mueller, MIT; Guy Nordenson, Princeton University & Guy Nordenson and Associates; and Mike Schlaich, TU Berlin & Schlaich Bergermann Partner.

This forum is presented with support from AIA Chicago. Open to the public, the Forum welcomes design professionals, educators and students. Registration through Eventbrite is required.

The International Research and Design Forum

September 6, 2019

8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Illinois Institute of Technology, Crown Hall
3360 South State Street
Chicago, IL 60616

About SOM Foundation

The SOM Foundation grants awards to students and faculty of architecture, design, urban design, and structural engineering. The Foundation’s goal is to advance the design profession’s ability to address the key topics of our time through the support of groups and individuals, each with the highest possible design aspirations and desire to undertake rigorous interdisciplinary research. Established in 1981, the SOM Foundation offers five annual awards across the United States, the United Kingdom, and China.