The Strand Honored by AIA San Francisco in 2016 Design Awards

The Strand, American Conservatory Theater. Photo © Bruce Damonte

The San Francisco Chapter of the American Institute of Architects has honored The Strand in its 2016 Design Awards, which recognizes outstanding achievements in local architecture and design, and celebrates the distinguished work of architects and related professionals who contribute to San Francisco’s built environment​. Designed by SOM,​ The Strand received an Interior Architecture Citation Award and a Social Responsibility Commendation.

The Strand resurrects an abandoned century-old movie house to provide a highly visible, alternative performance space for American Conservatory Theater (A.C.T.), San Francisco’s preeminent nonprofit theater company. The redefined space incorporates an intimate 285-seat proscenium theater, educational facilities, a 120-seat black box theater and rehearsal space, and a public lobby and cafe.

The awards jury stated that The Strand "does what great public spaces should do: it brings people together, and it also activates the street with its energy." Further, they noted that "the materials and detailing of the central volume really give it a new life and allow the visitors to appreciate the historic elements that were maintained."

SOM Design Director Michael Duncan collaborated with A.C.T., their representative Equity Community Builders, and a team of highly skilled consultants to develop the design—applying the integrated expertise of SOM’s architects, structural engineers, and environmental graphic designers through the firm’s signature, multidisciplinary approach. The project team included Plant Construction Company, a Bay Area-based general contractor; Page & Turnbull, a California-based historic preservation and architecture firm; Shalleck Collaborative, a San Francisco-based theater planning and design consultant; Charles M. Salter Associates, Inc., a San Francisco-based consulting firm on acoustics, telecommunications, and security; WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff, a San Francisco-based mechanical, electrical, and plumbing engineering design firm; and PritchardPeck Lighting, a San Francisco-based architectural lighting design firm.

The 2016 AIA Interior Architecture Citation Award and Social Responsibility Commendation jury includes: Burton Baldridge, Baldridge Architects; Christopher Cobb, AIA Austin Executive Board; Coleman Coker, University of Texas at Austin School of Architecture; Robert Harris, Lake|Flato; and Wendy Dunnam Tita, Page.

Learn More